Incumbents re-elected; Hannah next sheriff

Wed, 07/16/2008 - 1:09pm
By: The Citizen

Wayne Hannah won just over 50 percent of the vote, beating three challengers to become the next sheriff of Fayette County according to results from Tuesday's primary election.

Incumbent District Attorney Scott Ballard also won re-election, earning 60 percent of the vote in the four-county district that includes Fayette, Spalding, Upson and Pike counties.

Hannah was endorsed by current sheriff Randall Johnson, who is retiring after serving Fayette for over 32 years in office.

All three incumbents on the Fayette County Board of Education retained their seats: Marion Key, Janet Smola and Terri Smith, while two of the three incumbent county commissioners were also re-elected: Robert Horgan and Herb Frady.

The other commission race is still undecided, as incumbent Peter Pfeifer will face Lee Hearn in a runoff election Tuesday, Aug. 5. Also in a runoff for Probate Court Judge are Ann Jackson and Jim Whitlock.

In other races Tuesday, Tax Commissioner George Wingo held off a challenge from former county commissioner Linda Wells by a 2 to 1 vote margin.

Races for several seats in the Georgia legislature whose districts cover parts of Fayette County were also decided.

Long-serving state Rep. John Yates (R-Griffin) also won re-election with 68 percent of the vote, beating challenger Rick Williams of Fayette County for the 73rd district seat in the Georgia legislature.

For the District 66 seat, Virgil Fludd (D-Tyrone) was re-elected with 71.4 percent of the vote in the Democratic primary over challenger Connie Biemiller.

Sen. Valencia Seay (D-Riverdale) won re-election with 62.3 percent of the vote over challenger Stephanie Campbell.

Following are results from Tuesday night's election:
Winners are highlighted in BOLD type.

Fayette County sheriff

Barry Babb 4,562 (32.97%)

Wayne Hannah 6,963 (50.33%)

Thomas Mindar 381 (2.75%)

Dave Simmons 1,930 (13.95%)


District Attorney, Griffin Circuit
(With 96 percent of precincts reporting, Ballard won 14,512 votes (60.9 percent) while Hayes tallied 9,322 votes (39.1 percent)

Scott Ballard (I) 8,702 (63.29%)

Rudjard Hayes 5,047 (36.71%)


County Commission Post 1

Greg Dunn 6,221 (46.65%)

Robert Horgan (I) 7,114 (53.35%)


County Commission Post 2

Herb Frady (I) 6,826 (51.50%)

Bob Fuhrman 6,429 (48.50%)


County Commission Post 3

Lee Hearn 4,910 (36.71%)

Stuart Kourajian 2,352 (17.59%)

Peter Pfeifer (I) 6,112 (45.70%)


School Board Post 1

Dave Houston 6,038 (46.10%)

Janet Smola (I) 7,059 (53.90%)


School Board Post 2

Mary Kay Bacallao 5,635 (43.03%)

Terri Smith (I) 7,459 (56.97%)


School Board Post 3

Mark Aasen 1,527 (11.49%)

Carol Jensen-Linton 3,318 (24.98%)

Marion Key (I) 8,440 (63.53%)


Judge of Probate Court

Ann Jackson 5,197 (39.71%)

Steve Kiser 3,838 (29.33%)

Jim Whitlock 4,051 (30.96%)


Tax Commissioner

Linda Wells 4.498 (32.65%)

George Wingo (I) 9,277 (67.35%)


Ga. House District 73
(These results are from Fayette County only. With 90 percent of all precincts in the district reporting, Yates had a sizeable 4,283 votes compared to Williams' 1,989.)

Rick Williams 752 (34.39%)

John Yates (I) 1,435 (65.61%)


Democratic Primary results

State Senate District 34
(These are Fayette votes only. With 67 percent of precincts reporting, Seay had a lead of 3,976 to Campbell's 2,547)

Stephanie Campbell 590

Valencia Seay (I) 1,168


Ga. House District 66
(These are Fayette votes only. With 62 percent of precincts reporting, Fludd had a commanding lead of 1,585 to Biemiller's 616).

Connie Biemiller 219

Virgil Fludd (I) 390


login to post comments

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
The 5-0's picture
Submitted by The 5-0 on Wed, 07/16/2008 - 5:28pm.

Congratulations to Colonel Hannah.
I hope (and trust) that you will make a great Sheriff.
Some of us may have put our support behind other canadates; but now that the other voters have spoken, It's time to put that behind us and move forward.

Good luck these next years and know that all of Fayette County's boys in blue and brown support you.

Submitted by skyspy on Wed, 07/16/2008 - 5:55pm.

Congratulations Wayne Hannah. May we all survive the implosion of clayton county.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.