Redwine Rays win league championship

Tue, 08/08/2006 - 1:20pm
By: The Citizen

Redwine Rays

The Redwine Rays, a swim team from Fayetteville’s Lakeside on Redwine subdivision, won the first place trophy at the Southern Crescent Swim League championship meet held on July 15 at the Forest Park Recreation Pool. The Redwine Rays earned the first place title over seven other teams from Fayette, Henry and Clayton counties.

The Southern Crescent Swim League was formed in 2001, and the Fairfield Area Swim Team (FAST) of Jonesboro has won first place every year, until now. This summer, with more than 300 swimmers competing, the Redwine Rays took first place by a margin of over 200 points. FAST took second place this year, and Fayetteville’s Lakemont Team finished third.

The competition began after the National Anthem was sung and Redwine Ray’s swimmer Brandon Mason recited the Oath of Athletes. There were numerous records set by many of the Redwine Rays swimmers at the Championship Swim Meet. The record setting swimmers were: Eleanor Lambert, Trevor Watson, Jodran Watson, Katy Lewis Jamie DeCicco, Margot Farnet, Tori Ulmer, David Bowler, Crystal Warner, Claire Bohrer, Kristen Bohrer, Sean Gittens, Jaron Beckwith and Toby King.

Other First Place gold medal winners from the Redwine Rays included: Kyle Wilcox, Adelaide Turnage, Gregory Sousa, Zachary Birkhead, Liam Tucker, Danny Ulmer, Sophie Westfield, Noelle Parker, Derek Warner, Andrew Sousa, Luke Schwarz, Josh Fedorchak, Jack Hendry, Daniel Bowler, Daniel Perkins, Crystal Umila, Olivia Birkhead, Mackenzie Westfield, Kiarin Beckwith, Erin DeCicco, Albert Lambert, Brennan Oates, Davis Wall, Taylor Frable, Zuri Coleman, Danielle Grieco, and Alex Fedorchak.

The Redwine Rays had a fabulous season, and owe many thanks to Head Coach Staci Watson, and Assistant Coaches Cathy Birkhead and Kim Chunn.

login to post comments