Perceptor Beta Theta Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi begins new year of friendship and service

Wed, 07/15/2009 - 8:58am
By: The Citizen

By Alice Gladden

Special to The Citizen

The Preceptor Beta Theta Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi held their last meeting of the 2008-2009 year on May 12, at the home of Past President, Patsy Thorner. In a traditional Yellow Rose Ceremony, outgoing officers installed the 2009-2010 officers: President, Cookie McClure; Vice President; Teri Besch; Recording Secretary, Pam Lohmiller; and Treasurer, Carol Young.

President Thorner conferred the Fourth Degree of Beta Sigma Phi, the Preceptor Degree, onto outgoing Vice President Marci Moore. The Preceptor Degree signifies six years of active membership in the Exemplar Degree and six years of program leadership

President McClure announced two scholarship recipients, Miss. Kimberly Burkett bound for Auburn University, AL; and Miss. Elizabeth (Lizzy) Hines, off to Gordon State College, Barnesville, GA.

Outgoing Vice President Moore presented recognition pins to all the 2008-2009 officers, the Woman of the Year, and the Valentine Queen and announced two new chapter members: Nadine Webb and Alice Gladden. The meeting ended with the announcement of summer birthdays, anniversaries and special days, as well as drawing for 2009-2010 Secret Sisters.

Beta Sigma Phi is a nonacademic sorority with 200,000 members in chapters around the world. Founded in Abilene, Kansas in 1931 by Walter W. Ross, the organization has spread to every state of the United States, every Canadian province, and 30 other countries. The sorority was founded for the social, cultural and civic enrichment of its members. On February 1, 2001, the majority of the members of Coweta County Council Chapter, Xi Gamma Chi received the Preceptor Degree, at which time the chapter was renamed Preceptor Beta Theta.

login to post comments