CHC group adds to board

Mon, 02/13/2006 - 10:24am
By: Ben Nelms

Chattahoochee Hill Country Conservancy has expanded its board to keep pace with the area’s growth. The conservancy announced Jan. 20 the addition of four new board members.

New board members include CH2M Hill Vice President and Southeast Director Patrick N. Corleto, Columbia State University’s Oxbow Meadows Environmental Learning Center Executive Director Rebecca A. Champion, Alston & Bird Partner Robert D. Mowrey and Civitas, Inc. President Joseph G. Martin. CHC Conservancy Chairman for 2006 is Association of County Commissioners of Georgia Deputy Director Ross King.

Board member and Chattahoochee Hill Country co-founder Steve Nygren said the move to enlarge the board is a result of the area’s growth and the need to broaden the base of advisors.

Incumbent board members include Chattahoochee Hill Country Conservancy Executive Director Stacy Patton, The Trust for Public Land State Director James Langford, Seyfarth Shaw Partner James H. Kaminer, Jr., The Nature Conservancy Director of Conservation Curt Soper, Serenbe Development’s Steve Nygren (ex-officio), Seyfarth Shaw Partner John A. Sherrill (ex-officio) and National Park Service Landscape Architect Charlotte Gillis (ex-officio).

CHC Conservancy raises private funds to leverage foundation and governmental grants supporting sustainable development with environmental protection. King says the Conservancy will pursue an aggressive agenda in 2006 beginning with development and implementation of the nonprofit CHC Conservancy Transfer of Development Rights Bank.

login to post comments