No opposition for Superior Court judges

Tue, 07/01/2008 - 4:28pm
By: John Munford

None of the Fayette’s three Superior Court judges will face opposition in this year’s general election in November.

Johnnie L. Caldwell Jr., 61, Paschal A. English Jr., 64, Tommy R. Hankinson, 59, all of Thomaston, qualified for office last week with the Georgia Secretary of State office.
Fayette’s other Superior Court Judge, Christopher C. Edwards, will come up for re-election in 2010.

Caldwell and English are the two longest-serving current judges, and both previously served as district attorney prior to taking the bench.

English was first appointed to the position in 1987 and has won re-election ever since.

Hankinson first took office in 2003 after he was appointed to fill the unexpired term of retiring Chief Judge Ben J. Miller Jr. English was named Chief Judge of the circuit upon Miller’s retirement.

All four judges hold court throughout the Griffin Judicial Circuit, which includes Fayette, Spalding, Pike and Upson counties. Edwards and English both have their administrative offices at the Fayette County Justice Center.

login to post comments