Whitewater's Samantha Smith finalist for Dooley Award

Tue, 04/15/2008 - 9:44am
By: Kevin Wandra

Athletes for a Better World (ABW) and the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) recently announced the finalists for the inaugural Vincent J. Dooley Awards and Scholarships presented by Champion Window and Patio Rooms, and one of the finalists is Whitewater's Samantha Smith, a cross country and tennis player.

The awards are given to one male and one female senior in every Georgia high school who exemplifies distinguished individual character, outstanding teamwork and citizenship in their communities. In early December, athletic directors were asked to nominate a recipient from their school. The list was then cut to 10 boys and 10 girls by a selection committee.

“The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding individuals and call attention to the high esteem in which these values are held, so that they may become a stronger part of the ethos of participation in Georgia high school sports,” said ABW President Fred Northup.

All Dooley Award recipients will be invited to a luncheon and Atlanta Braves game on April 20 to receive their awards. The announcement of the scholarships award winners will take place on Turner Field before the Braves play the Los Angels Dodgers at 1:35 p.m.

The two senior recipients honored will be awarded a four-year, $1,000 scholarship by Vince Dooley. Each recipient will also be given $1,000 to present to the charity of their choice.

The finalists include 10 boys and 10 girls from Georgia area schools.


Christine Castek – Centennial High School
Angelique Jackson – Camden County High School
Caitlyn Moyer – Central Gwinnett High School
Kimberly Nash – Wayne County High School
Chantelle Quintana – Shaw High School
BreAnna Sinclair – Pierce County High School
Samantha Smith – Whitewater High School
Savannah Spivey – Bleckley County High School
Kaley Sullivan – Union County High School
LaToya Tufts – Vidalia High School


Taylor Bradberry – Winder-Barrow High School
Winston Grandy – The Lovett School
David Liddle – North Oconee High School
Robby Ostrowski – The Westminster School
Colin Patrick – Norcross High School
Juan Pickett – Shaw High School
Cale Roberts – Johnson County High School
Donald Rucker – Cartersville High School
Ryan Smith – Parkview High School
Adam Turner – West Hall High School

login to post comments