East Coweta honors swimmers at annual banquet

Thu, 03/27/2008 - 7:53am
By: Michael Boylan

ECHS swim banquet

The East Coweta High School swim team held an end of the season banquet to recognize their swimmers on March 13.

The swimmers with the highest points earned this season were Jamie Wright with 260 points and Myranda Kralman with 150 points. Kralman and Wright also received the coveted Coaches' Award for their outstanding dedication to the team. The Top Rookies Award was awarded to Lauren Taliaferro and Morgan Copeland. The Most Improved Swimmer Award was presented to Weston Dean and Miranda Moore.

Coach Hynson and Coach Brubaker also recognized the swimmers who achieved the status of scholar athlete. This season that honor went to 24 swimmers. The juniors and seniors were presented a patch while the freshmen and sophomores received certificates. The highest GPA award was earned by Weston Dean, Mailet Aguirre and Desiree Perez.

Team spirit and enthusiasm are encouraged on the swim team. This year the swimmers recognized for having the most spirit were: Cassie Wallace, Miranda Moore, Connor Ford and Ian Boulet. The swimmers who dropped the most time this season were Taylor Mercer and Mailet Aguirre. And the most improved rookies were Trevor Bachman, Desiree Perez and Phoebe Paredes.

The team captains Robert Angsten, Alex Kralman, Miranda Moore and Jamie Wright were recognized for their leadership.

At the end of the banquet, Coach Hynson announced the team record holders. This year Jamie Wright led the pack with nine records followed by Myranda Kralman with seven records. Also recognized for being a record holder were Robert Angsten, Jake O'Brien, Andrew Pepper, Sarah Ferguson, Alex Kralman and Miranda Moore.
With 10 swimmers qualifying for state in 15 different events, the Indians can call this a very successful season.

login to post comments