Fayette Democrats reorganizing

Wed, 01/02/2008 - 9:52am
By: The Citizen

Committee will be selected by district voting

The Fayette County Democratic Committee is making a significant change in how its committee is elected.

The committee has designated 16 different districts in the county, each corresponding with elementary school districts. This February, Democrats will only be able to vote on a committee member running for their specific district.

All registered voters in Fayette are invited to the Democrats’ Jan. 19 meeting at the Starbucks on Ga. Highway 54 East just outside Peachtree City at 11 a.m. for more information.

Information on all the Democratic candidates running in the Feb. 5 Presidential Preference Primary will be available at that meeting, which will be followed by a straw poll to determine the group’s favored candidate.

The Democratic Party has been in favor of adopting a similar district voting scheme to the Fayette County Board of Commissioners, though such a change was beaten back at the Georgia legislature last year by Rep. Dan Lakly of Peachtree City.

Currently all county voters can vote for each of the five seats on the county commission. Proponents of district voting argue that it simplifies governmental interaction for constituents by making it clear who their representative is.

Opponents of district voting say it would dilute the voting power currently bestowed to all county residents, since under district voting they’d only be allowed to vote for one member on the county commission.

login to post comments