Schools Combine Forces for Common Goal

Mon, 11/05/2007 - 9:26am
By: The Citizen

Schools Combine Forces for Common Goal

More than 200 racers, organizers and spectators showed up for the first annual Great Pumpkin Race, a joint effort organized by Flat Rock Middle School and Sandy Creek High School, held recently on the cross country course at Sandy Creek. Teachers, administrators, students and parents from the sister schools joined forces in an effort to raise money for technology services at both schools. As a result, more than $2000 was raised by the 1-mile walk and 5k walk/run that took place on Saturday, October 13. All race participants received a t-shirt and awards were given to the top three male and female winners of each age group in the 5k run.

Flat Rock Middle School principal Oatha Mann participated in the race and organizers challenged their students and teachers to try to “Beat the Mann.” Flat Rock also offered some healthy incentives, including two Ipods that were awarded to race participants in an effort to bump up race participation among students.

“We are thrilled with the money that was raised,” said race organizer and Flat Rock teacher Matt Foley, “but more importantly it was so exciting to see two schools combine forces for a common goal. There are so many things we can accomplish when the community comes together in this way. This walk is just one example.”

The race went so well that organizers are already making plans for next year. “We have seen such tremendous support from the faculty, students and parents in our community,” said Foley. “It is our intent that The Great Pumpkin Race becomes an annual event.”

Winners in each age group:

1 Mile Winners: Ben Williams, Caroline Lail. 5K Overall Winners: Jason Veclotch (17:47), Mackenzie Nail (22:00). 10 & under: Chase Loveless (24:10), Madison Redmond (23:17). 11-19: Ryan LeBlanc (20:04), Shelby Bolling (23:03). 20-29: Esteban Ramirez (20:50), Elizabeth Macnamara (31:27). 30-39: Rick Zambrana (21:00), Cindy McDonald (26:10). 40-49: Chris Lail (27:10), Betsy Baldwin (31:21). 50-59: Doug Pearson (23:24), Kathy Harper (29:50). 60 and over: Rick Foley, Starr Byrne.

login to post comments