Coweta-Fayette EMC Wins National Spotlight on Excellence Award

Tue, 07/10/2007 - 4:13pm
By: The Citizen

Coweta-Fayette EMC recently received an Award of Excellence for their employee newsletter “News Flash” in the 2007 “Spotlight on Excellence” national awards program, sponsored by the Council of Rural Electric Communicators and the National Rural Electric Association.

“One judge summed it up by describing the overall quality of work as simply outstanding,” said Maggie Tilley, administrator of Spotlight on Excellence. “In quality of writing, clarity of presentation, and level of creativity these professionals are excelling at serving the people with whom they are communicating.”

Participants in the awards competition competed with electric cooperatives of similar sizes in 19 categories. Electric cooperatives communicators and marketing professionals submitted more than 830 entries in the Spotlight on Excellence program, now in its 19th year. Faculty members from the University of Missouri in Columbia and the University of Southern Mississippi judged the entries.

The Spotlight awards competition is an annual event recognizing the top-rated communication and marketing efforts by electric cooperatives and related organizations.

The Council of Rural Electric Communicators was organized in 1982, and seeks to advance the recognition, education, and professionalism of electric cooperative communicators and their affiliated organizations. It is a volunteer association working on behalf of more than 3,100 electric cooperative communicators across the United States.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, the trade and service organization representing the national interests of cooperative electric utilities, coordinates the Council’s activities. Other national organizations supporting the work of the Council are the National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation, the National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative, and Federated Rural Electric Insurance Exchange.

Coweta-Fayette EMC is a consumer-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to 70,000 member/consumers in Coweta, Fayette, Heard, South Fulton, Clayton, Spalding, Troop and Meriwether counties.

login to post comments