Starr’s Mill’s Prowler wins record number of awards

Wed, 06/27/2007 - 2:41pm
By: The Citizen

Starr’s Mill’s Prowler wins record number of awards

With one of the smallest staffs in its nine-year history, Starr’s Mill High School’s The Prowler newspaper scooped up an unprecedented 13 awards at the annual Georgia Scholastic Press Association’s annual journalism convention and competition which was held at the Henry W. Grady School of Journalism at the University of Georgia on Friday, April 27.

Nine individuals won first place or “superior” awards in a variety of categories. They are Jacob Demmitt, news story (new teen driving laws); Kathryn Swany, in-depth news story (“Love on her arms”); Emily Smookler and Ben Whatley, opposing viewpoints column (“Is Pluto a planet?”); Dusty and Nate Christensen, sports news story (girls volleyball takes second at state); Tricia Price, sports news story (cheerleaders win—again--at region); and Dusty Christensen, sports feature story (Frisbee story).

In the On-the-Sport photojournalism competition, Demmitt won second place and Jenny Jiricek won third place for their photos depicting “campus life” at UGA.

For the first time, The Prowler had a student in the running for the Georgia Champion Journalist. Kathryn Swany was an Honorable Mention.

For the third year in a row, The Prowler was named a “superior” newspaper in its classification and voted “Best Of” with the General Excellence Award, sponsored by Morris Communications. The Prowler received the award for best sports coverage for the third year in a row. This award is sponsored by the Atlanta Journal Constitution.
Adviser Debbie Smelley was honored for her “service and dedication” to GSPA through her work on the GSPA Advisory Board and for planning a regional journalism workshop.

Earlier this semester, The Prowler received a superior rating at the Southeastern Scholastic Press Association’s annual convention at the University of South Carolina. Editor in chief Tricia Price received third place for Best News Story. Nathan Wester and Kevin Charles, both 2006 graduates, received second and third place, respectively, for Best Sports Story.

Also, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association recently awarded the paper a Gold Medal for its 2005-2006 papers. Former editor in chief Matt Werner received a Certificate of Merit for design of the Op-Ed pages.

login to post comments