2007-08 student transfer renewal deadline is June 11

Thu, 04/26/2007 - 2:48pm
By: The Citizen

All Coweta County school students who have received transfers to a school outside of their home attendance zones, including hardship transfers and school transfers under the No Child Left Behind Act, must renew those transfers by June 11 for the transfers to remain in effect for the 2007-08 school year.

All currently approved student transfers expire at the end of this school year on May 25.This includes any transfers granted under local policies JBCD or JBCDA as well as those granted under the No Child Left Behind law

The school system must renew the transfers to comply with a mutual consent decree between the school system and the United States Justice Department, Civil Rights Division, that will provide an opportunity to resolve the 1973 Court Order which governs the system’s desegregation attempts. The consent decree was issued in United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, on November 9, 2007.

Applications for new and continuing 2007-2008 transfers must be received at the Board of Education Building at 237 Jackson Street by June 11, 2007. The forms must be notarized. Notaries are available at all schools and at the Board of Education Building. Beginning in mid-June, parents will be notified by letter whether the transfer was provisionally approved or denied.

Final approval must be received from the United States Department of Justice in Washington, DC. This is expected no later than August 1, 2007. If the transfer is not approved by the Justice Department, parents will be notified as soon as possible.

Parents may obtain a copy of the transfer application form from their child's school, at the Coweta County Board of Education Building at 237Jackson St. in Newnan, or by printing one from the school system website at www.cowetaschools.org.

The transfer policies JBCD and JBCDA are available on the website for review. In addition, a review copy of each policy will be available in each school's office and at the Board of Education Building at 237 Jackson Street.

login to post comments