New Fayette Chamber officers nominated

Fri, 04/20/2007 - 2:28pm
By: Cal Beverly

Pat Murphy of Pathway Communities is slated to become the next chairman of the Fayette County Chamber of Commerce, according to an e-mail sent out April 20 by current Chairman Dennis Davenport.

Pathway, once the major developer in Peachtree City, now has major projects completed or planned in neighboring Coweta County. Murphy would take the helm at the Chamber in January 2008 under the organization’s bylaws.

Others selected by the Chamber’s nominating committee are as follows:

Chair-elect (for 2009): Pete Meadows (AT&T Corporation).

Vice-Chair: Joe Domaleski (AIS Computers).

Treasurer: Pam Young (Fayette Family YMCA).

Secretary: Odessa Archibald (Georgia Power).

Immediate Past Chair: Dennis Davenport (McNally, Fox and Grant, PC).

Directors (to fill unexpired term ending 12/31/2008): Fred Hunt (Hoshizaki America, Inc); Jim Mothorpe (National Financial Services Group).

Directors (to fill unexpired term ending 12/31/2009): Fred Brown (Southern Crescent Alzheimer’s Memory Walk).

Directors (term ending 12/31/2010): Randy Weaver (Allstate Insurance); Scott Formel (Cooper Lighting); Bob Reeves (Accounting Resources); Barbara Stevens (Heritage Bank); Melanie Myer (Delta Community Credit Union).

“Each year we have an election to place new directors on our board to serve a three-year term (2008-2010) as well as to select Officers for the upcoming year,” Davenport wrote. “Our by-laws require that a nominating committee submit a slate of candidates to [Chamber members] for your consideration.”

All directors and officers would begin their terms of service next January.

The members serving on the nominating committee this year include: Andy Carden (Fayette Senior Services), Pat Murphy (Pathway Communities), Jim Mothorpe (National Financial Services Group), Dennis Davenport (McNally, Fox and Grant, PC), and Vicki Turner (AIS Computers). The committee has recommended the following candidates to serve as Directors and Officers in the term beginning January 1, 2008.

“The by-laws do not require you to respond to this slate of candidates. They do, however, allow you to submit other names for consideration. Additional names of candidates for officers and directors can be nominated by petition bearing the signatures of at least five members of the Chamber. Such petitions can be filed within 10 days of this letter at the Chamber office. If no additional nominations are made at the end of that period, the nominations will be closed, and the slate of candidates listed above will be elected by the Board of Directors,” Davenport wrote.

login to post comments