Local National Merit semifinalists named

Tue, 09/26/2006 - 3:22pm
By: The Citizen

The names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 52nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program were announced September 13 by officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

These scholastically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards, worth $33 million, that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements and advance to the finalist level of the competition.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title. NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was founded in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Program.

Scholarships awarded through the program are underwritten by NMSC’s own funds and approximately 500 business organizations and higher education institutions which share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

The following students have been announced as semifinalists: Andrew D. Ash, Ian A. Crawford, Amanda L. Statham and Andrew Zheng, Starr’s Mill High School; Matthew D. Glass and Jacon P. Moore, Whitewater High School; Jessica M. Everage, Jonathan K. Hung, Patrick R. McAllister, Lyndsi J. Tufte and Craig M. Western, McIntosh High School.

login to post comments